Antonio Tajani elected new President of the European Parliament

Antonio Tajani (EPP, IT) won Parliament’s presidential election with 351 votes in a final face-off with Gianni Pittella (S&D, IT), who secured 282 votes.

Outcome of the fourth ballot

  1. Antonio Tajani (EPP, IT) 351
  2. Gianni Pittella (S&D, IT) 282

Valid votes cast: 633

Abstentions: 80

Total votes cast: 713

No candidate won the required absolute majority of valid votes cast in the first three rounds of voting in Parliament’s presidential election on Tuesday.


Outcome of the third ballot

  1. Antonio Tajani (EPP, IT) 291 (+4)
  2. Gianni Pittella (S&D, IT) 199 (-1)
  3. Helga Stevens (ECR, BE) 58 (-8)
  4. Jean Lambert (Greens/EFA, UK) 53 (+2)
  5. Eleonora Forenza (GUE/NGL, IT) 45 (+3)
  6. Laurentiu Rebega (ENF, RO) 44 (-1)

Valid votes cast : 690

Absolute majority: 346

Total votes cast: 719


Outcome of the second ballot

  1. Antonio Tajani (EPP, IT) 287 (+13)
  2. Gianni Pittella (S&D, IT) 200 (+ 17)
  3. Helga Stevens (ECR, BE) 66 (-11)
  4. Jean Lambert (Greens/EFA, UK) 51 (-5)
  5. Laurentiu Rebega (ENF, RO) 45 (+2)
  6. Eleonora Forenza (GUE/NGL, IT) 42 (-8)

Valid votes cast : 691

Absolute majority: 346

Total votes cast: 725


Outcome of the first ballot

  1. Antonio Tajani (EPP, IT) 274
  2. Gianni Pittella (S&D, IT) 183
  3. Helga Stevens (ECR, BE) 77
  4. Jean Lambert (Greens/EFA, UK) 56
  5. Eleonora Forenza (GUE/NGL) 50
  6. Laurentiu Rebega (ENF, RO) 43

Valid votes cast in the first ballot: 683

Absolute majority: 342

Total votes cast: 718


Candidates’ presentations before the vote

The election of a new European Parliament President began with three-minute speeches by the six candidates, outlining their ideas on how to lead the chamber over the next two and half years. Guy Verhofstadt (ALDE) withdrew his candidature before the vote. MEPs then proceeded to cast their votes in the first round.

To view the video, click on the candidate’s name.

Laurentiu Rebega (ENF, RO)

Jean Lambert (Greens/EFA, UK)

Eleonora Forenza (GUE/NLG, IT)

Helga Stevens (ECR, BE)

Gianni Pittella (S&D, IT)

Antonio Tajani  (EPP, IT)


Parliament’s Vice-Presidents and Quaestors will be elected on Wednesday.