Travel to the EU

Since December 2010, BiH citizens holding biometric passports are able to travel without a visa to all the countries within the Schengen Area as well as Bulgaria, Romania, Cyprus and Croatia. Those who have not yet changed their non-biometric BiH passport to a biometric passport will need a visa.

If you are need to apply for a visa for any reason, please contact the relevant consular office for the EU Member State that you wish to travel to.

For further information related to the visa free regime, see the websites of the BiH Ministry of Security and BiH Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

To get comprehensive information about travelling in and across Europe, see the publication Travelling in Europe 2013-14.

For information about the EU’s visa policy, see