EU Welcomes the Launch of the Pilot Census in BiH

The Pilot Population and Housing Census which started today will take place in a total 60 enumeration areas (across 35 municipalities [*]) in Bosnia and Herzegovina until 29 October 2012. The Deputy Head of the Delegation of the European Union to Bosnia and Herzegovina, Dr Renzo Daviddi, commented:

“The Pilot Census is a crucial rehearsal for the Census which is currently foreseen to take place in April 2013. It will allow the authorities to test the methodology and its implementation, adapt, amend and change elements as necessary to ensure that the actual Census is a success. I strongly encourage all citizens within the enumeration areas to actively participate.”

The Pilot Census will be monitored by an International Monitoring Operation (IMO) who will then provide an assessment and feedback to help ensure the proper implementation of the actual Census in 2013.

The Census is of key importance as it will be the first comprehensive survey of economic and social data in Bosnia and Herzegovina since 1991, allowing authorities to develop public policies such as in the fields of health or education on the basis of accurate data. It is therefore a crucial element for Bosnia and Herzegovina’s economic development as well as for its progress on the European integration path.

The EU is supporting the Census with 4.5 million Euros under the Instrument for Pre-Accession Assistance (IPA), through technical assistance, support to the monitoring operation and the provision of the necessary ICT equipment for the processing of the data.

The IMO through its presence and the EU with its assistance will contribute to the Census being prepared according to the highest international standards, including data gathering and processing.

[*] Banja Luka, Bihac, Bijeljina, Brcko, Cazin, Doboj, East New Sarajevo, Foca, Gacko, Gorazde, Ilijas, Kakanj, Kozarska Dubica, Livno, Lukavac, Mostar, Neum, Orasje, Pale, Prijedor, Prnjavor, Sarajevo (Centar, Ilidza, Novi grad, Novo Sarajevo and Stari grad), Sipovo, Siroki Brijeg, Teslic, Travnik, Trebinje, Tuzla, Ugljevik, Zenica and Zvornik.