Nobel Peace prize awarded to the European Union.

The Norwegian Nobel Committee has awarded the Nobel Peace Prize to the European Union. Commenting, High Representative/Vice President Catherine Ashton said:

“I am delighted at the news that the European Union has been awarded the 2012 Nobel Peace Prize, in recognition of its work on reconciliation, democracy, promotion of human rights and in enlarging the area of peace and stability across the continent. In the countries of the EU, historic enemies have become close partners and friends. I am proud to be part of continuing this work.

The creation of the European External Action Service has enabled us to develop a comprehensive approach to better promote Europe’s core values throughout the world. I will continue to work tirelessly to drive this process forward.”

Nobel Committee President Thorbjoern Jagland has said the committee wanted to concentrate on the body’s work over six decades of advancing “peace and reconciliation, democracy and human rights”.

Read more about the award made to the European Union here: