Council extends the mandates of the EU Special Representatives for Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo* and South Caucasus and the crisis in Georgia for one year

The Council has today adopted a series of decisions extending the existing mandates of following three EU Special Representatives (EUSRs) for one year, until 31 August 2024:

– Johann Sattler is the EUSR in Bosnia and Herzegovina (BiH) since 1 September 2019. His mandate is to ensure continued progress in the Stabilisation and Association Process, with the aim of a stable, viable, peaceful and multiethnic and united BiH, cooperating peacefully with its neighbours and irreversibly on track towards membership of the Union. He also supports the implementation of the General Framework Agreement for Peace in BiH.

– Tomáš Szuyog was appointed EUSR for Kosovo* on 1 September 2020. His mandate includes the task of offering the EU’s advice and support in the political process and promote overall Union political coordination in Kosovo.

– Toivo Klaar was appointed EUSR for the South Caucasus and the crisis in Georgia on 13 November 2017. His task is to contribute to a peaceful settlement of conflicts in the region, namely the crisis in Georgia and the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, as well as to encourage regional cooperation between Armenia, Azerbaijan and Georgia, and, as appropriate, their neighbouring countries.


The EU Special Representatives are proposed by the High Representative to promote the EU’s policies and interests in specific regions and countries, and provide the EU with an active political presence in those areas.

Currently, ten EUSRs support the work of the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, Josep Borrell. These include the three special representatives mentioned above, as well as the EUSRs for the Belgrade-Pristina Dialogue and other Western Balkans regional issues, as well as for the Sahel, the Horn of Africa, the Gulf region, Central Asia, the Middle East Peace Process, as well as for Human Rights.